2017

It’s a new year. I’ve spent quite a bit of time reflecting on what my goals were last year, and if they were realistic or not. I like to say that having the flu the first week of the year, completely threw off my motivation, but I’m not sure that is entirely true. I don’t think I have completely bounced back from when we moved 2.5 years ago.

I had just found my niche in the St Louis craft show market. I had finally figured out where my target audience was, and which shows would be profitable. Then, we moved to Colorado. I haven’t been able to jump into the craft show scene like I would like to. I learned the hard way that one must research and attend shows before committing to the vendor fee. That process takes a couple of years. I have to admit that I have neither done the research, nor attended shows. I have joined some online discussion groups about area shows, and pay close attention to vendor feedback, and that helps in making the decisions as to what shows to apply to. I have done a few smaller shows (no offense meant to the organizers. I was doing out-door festival type shows in STL, so shows with 15 – 20 vendors are small, to me) and they have been very successful for me. They have been well-organized and advertised. The connections I’ve made are irreplaceable.

As I sit and ponder while crunching stats from last year and the year before, I have to seriously evaluate what I expect from my business, and what realistic, attainable goals to set for this year. My head and my heart want to jump in, full force, head first,eyes closed, but my gut is holding them both back, telling me to tread cautiously, and take the safe route. I know my ultimate goal is a brick and mortar store front. Getting from 16 Etsy sales in a year to being able to sustain an actual store is going to take several years, and I know that. Figuring out the most profitable, cost-effective, quickest route to that store front is key. I would love to have that before I’m 50, but reality says that isn’t likely. I do not have the resources to devote 40 – 60 hours a week to my little business, so maybe by the time I’m 60.

Lots to think about, without giving up, or jumping in and sinking. Treading water like I did in 2016 is not an option this year.

 

 

Author: 1leftofcenter

I am the mother of four amazing children who constantly encourage and inspire my work. 1 Left of Center would not be what it is today without the support of them and my wonderful husband. I am a crafter. I make unique and unusual home decor, and accessories (mostly purses and tote bags). I participate in craft shows in the St Louis area, though out the year, and sell many of my creations in my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

