Questioning Myself

I know I am a creative person, and I know I have come up with some pretty dang clever things in my lifetime. I am very good at visualizing and can usually make the things I think of. My biggest problem is that I haven’t been able to come up with something really amazing since I started my business. I feel like everything I make is  “pintrest project” or something that anyone can find the instructions for, online.

This brings me back to a thought that crosses my mind frequently: I need to learn how to weld. I know I could make some really amazing sculpture type things, and yard art, if I could weld. I just don’t think solder is strong enough to hold on some of the ideas I come up with.

Every time I come up with an idea or create a sketch, I look it up online. If I find several similar items when I search, I scrap the idea. I just feel like I’m stuck. I keep coming up with things I think are fantastic, and would be great sellers, but keep scrapping the ideas because if I can find how to make it online, so can anyone else. So, why should they bother to buy it from me?

So, as I revamp, and restructure my workshop, I am asking myself what I really want to make. What do I really love making? What materials do I love working with most? What projects make me happy? I’m just not coming up with any answers.

Author: 1leftofcenter

I am the mother of four amazing children who constantly encourage and inspire my work. 1 Left of Center would not be what it is today without the support of them and my wonderful husband. I am a crafter. I make unique and unusual home decor, and accessories (mostly purses and tote bags). I participate in craft shows in the St Louis area, though out the year, and sell many of my creations in my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

