New Beginning

Looking at the chaos and randomly stacked boxes and supplies that is my workshop, I am trying to make order of the mess. While I was away, my husband tore down the obscenely over sized desk that was my work bench. This thing was 8’x3’x3′ and had a 6’x3′ set of cubbies on top. The previous owner of the house built the work bench in the basement, so it was too big – and heavy – to move up the stairs. DH literally had to cut it apart. Now everything that was on the desk and in the cubbies is now stacked in front of the over sized shelves on the other side of the room. I always thought it was nice to have the desk and shelves already in the room, just waiting for me to take over, but it never really felt like my space. I always felt like I was working at someone else’s desk. Essentially, I was.

Now, as I try to figure out where to put everything, and, finally, actually get organized, I’m becoming more excited about having my workshop set up how I want it, rather than working with someone else’s design. My workshop will finally be mine.

Author: 1leftofcenter

I am the mother of four amazing children who constantly encourage and inspire my work. 1 Left of Center would not be what it is today without the support of them and my wonderful husband. I am a crafter. I make unique and unusual home decor, and accessories (mostly purses and tote bags). I participate in craft shows in the St Louis area, though out the year, and sell many of my creations in my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

